Oowie…

For some reason last night I kept waking up with Charley Horses in my legs.  If you have ever had them you know they are painful and really annoying.  I get them a lot so it’s more annoying than anything.  I got to thinking, though, where did the name come from?  The only “Charlie Horse” I’ve ever known was from Lamb Chop’s Play Along. (oh Shari Lewis!)

Shari Lewis & Charlie Horse

According to Wikipedia the name may actually date back to the 1880s and baseball.  Apparently there was a baseball pitcher named Charlie  “Old Hoss” Radbourn.  He was said to have suffered from painful leg cramps.

Charlie "Old Hoss" Radbourn

Very interesing, but my leg is still sore 😦

~ by katoque on April 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
